LIVE: Loose Women and Jeremy Kyle still need good journalists

By Alex Smith

Journalists need to celebrate the things which make them unique,  and be mindful of the prejudices they will face, says Emma Morris, acting editor of Loose Women.

She said: “I don’t look like a journalist. I’m blonde, I’m smiley, I’m from Burnley, I didn’t go to a posh school, my dad was a probation officer and my mum worked for the council so I couldn’t get work experience through them – they let me down!”

According to Emma, the greatest challenge young student journalists face is being labelled as part of the ‘snowflake generation.’

She said: “Janet Street-Porter was very scathing about the snowflake generation.

“She said that you take offence, that you are flakey, that you are not going to work hard. You need to prove to people that yes you are young but that means that you are more energetic and you need to say to employers I’m going to be the Twitter person, I’m going to be the multimedia person, I’m the one with the skills that you dinosaurs don’t have.”

Emma credits her personality for helping her become a valuable member the teams she has worked with.

She said: “I was the one who was still smiley and bubbly 12 hours into a 14 hour shift. I was still energetic when everyone else around me was saying they were knackered. There are times when I might ham up the fact that I’m from Burnley, sometimes I play it down.

“You need to learn what it is about you that might make someone trust you, that might make them feel comfortable. If there is someone coming on the show who is from the north, then suddenly I become the most northern person in the world.”

Emma started her career working on The Jeremy Kyle Show, before coming to Leeds Trinity University to study journalism. She then went on to work on Channel 5 News, OK!TV, Daybreak and This Morning, amongst others.

She said: “Even though you might not think the genre of daytime TV is newsy, journalism is at the heart of everything we do at Loose Women.

“When you’re working with journalists and non-journalists, you really need to know the boundaries of what you can talk about. The ethics, the legals. Last week we were talking about everything from sexual assault cases to the MP taking his own life. These are legal minefields. But we make it seem like it’s seamless by doing all the work in advance.

“You learn about not getting sued, not being taken off air, the right of reply, the ethics of what’s fair to people. So when we are putting people on TV we need to make sure we’re not taking advantage of them.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

